The Bluest Eye

Content Warning: Sex and sexuality, violence, animal torture, and racism. 

In this session, we will deconstruct a chapter from Nobel Laureate Toni Morrison's seminal work The Bluest Eye to learn about colorism, speciesism, and the literary trope of "bad people hurt animals."

Please use this link to read pages 81 to 93. Participants don't need to read the chapter in order to join, but it helps the conversation. 

Discussion questions to think about while reading:

  1. Why do you think Morrison used a cat as a storytelling device here?

  2. How does gender drive the story in this chapter?

  3. Why do you think Geraldine loves the cat more than her son?

  4. What is the literary trope of bad people hurt animals?

  5. How is it different from the literary trope of kick the dog?

  6. What role does colorism play in this chapter?

  7. How does encoding blackness into animal violence reinforce the presumption of black criminality? 

This session is for 28 March 2020 at 12 noon EST (9 am Pacific and 4 pm GMT). To join this session, make a contribution of any amount to my Patreon and receive a Zoom link accessible from anywhere in the world. All you need is a mobile phone. Spaces are limited. 

©2018 by Christopher Sebastian. Proudly created with Wix.com